MA Elections 2017




Boston | Lawrence | Springfield | Lynn | Worcester | Brockton | New Bedford

As 1199ers, we have always been a leading force in the fight for quality care and true social, economic and racial justice for all. Now, with the healthcare industry rapidly changing and extreme politicians pushing to cut healthcare funding, we must continue to strengthen our unity and build our power to face our challenges ahead.

As healthcare workers, we know the importance of electing champions who will stand up for issues important to us, our families and our communities. That is why our union has endorsed dedicated leaders whose commitment to our shared values make them the best choices for our community.

We depend on government funding for our hospitals, nursing homes, healthcare centers and long-term care services, like the Personal Care Attendant program. These candidates have demonstrated a clear willingness to work with us to ensure full funding of these vital programs and services that are essential to maintaining and growing good jobs. Similarly, they share our commitment to building more equitable communities and supports our efforts to secure a $15 minimum wage and paid family and medical leave for all Massachusetts workers.

Please join healthcare workers across Massachusetts by voting for the following candidates on November 7. While your vote is a personal decision, we know that when we use our collective voice, we can make a real difference for our jobs and our futures.

For more information about where you vote in your community, visit


Marty Walsh, Mayor
Lydia Edwards, District One
Mike Kelley, District Two
Ayanna Pressley, At-Large
Michelle Wu, At-Large
Annissa Essaibi George, At-Large
Josh Zakim, District Eight
Mark Ciommo, District Nine


Dan Rivera, Mayor
Pavel Payano, At-Large
Maria De La Cruz, District A
Estela Reyes, District B
Kendrys Vasquez, District C
Jeovanny Rodriquez, District D

Back to top


Justin Hurst, At-Large
Jynai McDonald, At-Large
Jesse Lederman, At-Large
Ernesto Cruz, At-Large
Adam Gomez, Ward 1
Michael Fenton, Ward 2
Melvin Edwards, Ward 3
Henry Twiggs, Ward 4
Marcus Williams, Ward 5
Orlando Ramos, Ward 8


Tom McGee, Mayor


Joe Petti, At-Large/Mayor
Sarai Rivera, District 4
Khyrstian King, At-Large
Candy Carlson Mero, District 2
Sean Rose, District 1
George Russell, District 3

Back to top


Jean Bradley Derenoncour, At-Large
Robert Sullivan, At-Large
Angel Cosme, Ward 2

New Bedford:

Maria Giesta, Ward 2
Dana Rebeiro, Ward 4

Back to top

News Feed